Keyboard Festival
The Nordic Historical
   Ohjelma 2019      Competitions
First International Clavichord Competition 2014

The First International Clavichord Competition was arranged at the 2014 NHKF. Finalists from eight countries arrived to the festival. The jury consisted of were Barend Kraal (head of jury), Aapo Häkkinen, Anna Maria McElwain, Dóra Pétery and Michael Tsalka. Winners of the competition were:

Dalyn Cook (1st prize) from the USA

Alexandra Filatova (2nd prize) from Russia

International Clavichord Composition Competition 2018

The final concert of the International Clavichord Composition Competition 2018 was held at Kuopio City Library on May 25, 2018. The performers were Dalyn Cook, Esther Yae Ji Kim, Anna Maria McElwain and Eija Virtanen. The finalist composers were:

Papaki72 (Aspasia Nasopoulou, Greece)
3*1 suite

Uraltau range (Timur Ismagilov, Russia)
Fantasia for Clavichord

Forager (Alissa Duryee, USA/France)
Forager's Journal

Byrd Farnaby (Michael Kennedy, United States)
Pavin on a Color'd Field

Amenemope (Gabriele Toia, Italy)

The jury awarded Gabriele Toia the 1st prize for his piece Tamutmutef. The 2nd prize was awarded to Alissa Duryee for her Forager's Journal.

We thank all the participants of the competition.

Jury of the International Clavichord Composition Competition 2018 consisted of:

Dr. Pekka Vapaavuori, clavichordist (Chairman of the Jury)
Prof. Leonardo Coral, composer
Lect. Jouni Kuronen, composer
Dr. Joel Speerstra, clavichordist, musicologist
Dr. Albert Mühlböck, clavichordist
Adam Al-Sawad, composer (Secretary of the Jury)

The Nordic Historical Keyboard Festival has no competitions scheduled at this time.